Physician Resources Home arrow Medical News arrow Society for neuroscience announces prizes
Society for neuroscience announces prizes
Written by Medical News Feed   

SAN DIEGO, November 3, 2007-The Society for Neuroscience, the world's largest organization of physicians and scientists who study the brain and nervous system, announces the winners of science achievement awards given this year at its annual meeting here. The awards and winners are listed below.

Discuss this article on the forums. (0 posts)



Awards sponsored by private foundations:

The Peter and Patricia Gruber Foundation Neuroscience Prize: Shigetada Nakanishi, director of Japan's Osaka Bioscience Institute. This prize honors individuals whose groundbreaking work provides new models that inspire and enable fundamental shifts in knowledge and culture.

The Peter and Patricia Gruber International Research Award in Neuroscience: Yulia Lerner of New York University and Hubert Lim of Medical University Hannover in Germany. This prize recognizes young scientists who have demonstrated international collaboration based on the best science.

Jacob P. Waletzky Memorial Award for Innovative Research in Drug Addiction and Alcoholism, supported by the Waletzky Family and the Philanthropic Collaborative at Rockefeller Philanthrophy Advisors: Marina Picciotto of Yale University School of Medicine. This award recognizes a scientist who as done research or plans to do research in the area of substance abuse and the brain and nervous system.

Donald B. Lindsley Prize, supported by the Grass Foundation: Sara Aton of the University of Pennsylvania. This prize recognizes meritorious research in behavioral neuroscience.

Awards sponsored by companies or their foundations:

Julius Axelrod Prize, supported by the Eli Lilly and Company Foundation: Richard Huganir of Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, and David Julius of the University of California at San Francisco. The prize was established to honor a scientist with distinguished achievements in the broad field of neuropharmacology or a related area and exemplary efforts in mentoring young scientists.

Ralph W. Gerard Prize in Neuroscience, supported by Eli Lilly Company: Nicole Le Douarin, of the Collège de France in Paris, a retired French developmental biologist, and Friedrich Bonhoeffer of the Max-Planck-Institute for Neurobiology, Munich, Germany. This prize honors outstanding contributions to neuroscience, and is given for recognition of a neuroscientist's research by their colleagues.

Young Investigator Award, supported by AstraZeneca: Michael Ehlers of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute at Duke University Medical Center, and Ricardo Dolmetsch of Stanford Medical School. The award is presented to a young scientist with outstanding achievements who has received an advanced professional degree within the past ten years.

Research Awards for Innovation in Neuroscience, supported by Astellas USA Foundation: Edward Boyden of Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Daniel Dombeck of Princeton University; and Nicholas Schiff of Weill Cornell Medical College. These awards honor imaginative, innovative research that will advance novel ideas and have the potential to lead to significant breakthroughs in the understanding of the brain and nervous system and related diseases.

Other SfN awards:

Society for Neuroscience Special Recognition Award: Paul Allen, co-founder of Microsoft and founder of Vulcan Inc. This award is for his unique and generous contributions to neuroscience. In 2003, he founded the Allen Institute for Brain Science in Seattle which has charted the expression of more than 20,000 genes of the mouse brain and has become an invaluable resource for neuroscientists.

Mika Salpeter Lifetime Achievement Award: Huda Akil of the University of Michigan. This award recognizes an individual with outstanding career achievements in neuroscience who has also significantly promoted the professional advancement of women in neuroscience.

Louise Hanson Marshall Special Recognition Award: Marion Diamond, University of California at Berkeley. Administered by SfN's Committee on Women in Neuroscience, this award is for an individual working outside the field of neuroscience who has significantly promoted the professional advancement of women in neuroscience.

Science Educator Award: David Friedman of Wake Forest University School of Medicine. This award is given to an outstanding neuroscientist who has made significant contributions to educating the public about neuroscience.

Career Development Awards: Suzanne Paradis, a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Michael Greenberg at Harvard Medical School and Children's Hospital in Boston; and Adrienne Fairhall, an assistant professor at the University of Washington. This award recognizes achievement and promise in scholars who have not yet received tenure.

The Society for Neuroscience, with more than 38,000 members, is headquartered in Washington, DC.

Discuss this article on the forums. (0 posts)

< Prev   Next >

Common Diseases

Swine Flu - Updates and information on H1N1 2009 (AKA Swine Influenza) pandemic.

Ankylosing spondylitis - Current protocols for diagnosis and treatment options.

Wegener granulomatosis - Autoimmune etiology and clinical course.

Diabetes - disease and management information, including diagnosis, typical treatment plans and diabetes supplies.


Medical Careers

The US medical jobs market has stayed hot for health care providers. Whether you believe that a provider shortage is in the offing or that the ratio of physicians-to-patients is too high, physician jobs and nursing jobs abound.

A wide variety of medical jobs can be found in the netdoc health care job listings. Particular strengths include permanent and locum tenens physician jobs, nursing jobs across the US, and radiology positions.

Other resources include physician salary information, medical career guidance, and the ability to post physician jobs.


When hiring your medical practice office manager, what was the most important consideration?
Copyright 2005 - 2020 Medical Resource Group, LLC. All rights reserved.